The Tunisian Revolution in The Eyes of Teenagers

The Tunisian Revolution in The Eyes of Teenagers

A Dream Comes True

When I was in school, we were taught French revolution as a part of History. It was one of the most interesting parts of the subject. The fact that a nation could be reborn with the help of the common man really enthralled me. It made me feel so unfortunate that I wasn’t born in the days where I could shout slogans and fight against the aggressive forces. As the lessons progressed towards the fall of the Bastille and the overthrowing of the wicked French noble men, my fascination with the idea of being a part of a revolution grew. Many a times, in my naivety, I rued the fact that I was born in a better part of the century where there was no need to fight for anything. But how wrong was I!!

The day Jasmine revolution began; I kept my eyes glued to the television. It was a revelation to see the country Tunisia, dismissed by many as the minnow of the Arab world stand as a torch bearer for this revolution. Somehow it reminded me of Tale of two cities by Charles Dickens. The novel had glorified the revolution, underlining the success and the ecstatic reactions of the protestors. The grim aspects of the guillotine and the bloodshed were dismissed just as an after-effect of the same. However, the visual impact brought in by the media changed my complete perspective of the revolutions. As the news channel brought out the images of the burning Middle East’s domino effect, the revolution no longer looked like an adventure. I did not feel like the fight of the people to build a new nation. It looked like a hard-wrenching effort to just survive.

Having a revolution was probably the easiest things of the lot. The most difficult part is to have a leadership that can guide the people along. As the most countries in the world eye the future of Egypt with more interest than it showed for its own elections, we know how crucial this stage is. In a way, our freedom movement was also a revolution where the whole country came together to build a nation of their dreams.

This revolution has also brought an eye-opening not only for the autocratic rulers of the Middle east, but also for all the world’s younger generation. Most of them were born after liberalization of the foreign policy. But on a positive side, I feel we’ll at least have a democracy that can investigate the corruption. At least no one stops me from airing my views or curtails my rights. I guess, we learn to value things in life only when we see ourselves without it!! 

                                                                                                      Safa Haj Kacem

                                                                                                          

 



06/05/2011
0 Poster un commentaire

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 4 autres membres